The Civil Service Awards

Celebrating excellence across government for 15-years

The awards are a highly respected and prestigious cross-government programme, recognising and celebrating the wealth of inspirational individuals and innovative projects within the Civil Service. For the last 15 years, these unique and empowering awards help to spread best practice right across government, sharing innovation, learning and leadership.


The awards capture the best of what we aspire to as a brilliant Civil Service.

They illustrate and recognise the sheer range of our expertise, from excellence in policy development and operational delivery, to achievement in digital and commercial. And they reflect the commitment to our core values, with awards for volunteering and diversity and inclusion. Above all, they show civil servants tackling big issues with big ideas and innovative solutions, built on teamwork and producing real impact for the citizens of this country.

Sir Mark Sedwill
Cabinet Secretary, Head of the Civil Service and National Security Adviser 


Stay in the know 

The Civil Service Awards Community, is an online space where you can find out about past winners, who’ll share their advice and experiences, and learn more about the Awards themselves, with blogs from our champions and articles exploring the different categories. This is a place to learn from all the good practice that we celebrate through the awards, and to be inspired by many people and teams who have won over the years.

Follow us on twitter

Join the conversation using the hashtag #CSAwards @UKCivilService